What is Turbo Bandwidth

"Turbo" bandwidth can be defined as the amount of traffic between our CDN servers and users who are viewing your video. Your videos are delivered via that CDN (content delivery network) that is spread out around the world.

A content delivery network is a system of distributed servers (network) that deliver video content to a user, based on the geographic locations of the user, the origin of the web page and the content delivery server.

This service is effective in speeding the delivery of content of websites with high traffic and websites that have global reach. The closer the CDN server is to the user geographically, the faster the content will be delivered to the user. CDNs also provide protection from large surges in traffic.

Our Startup and Enterprise accounts are configured with a set amount of this Turbo bandwidth every month, and it resets on the first of every month.

If your "Turbo" bandwidth runs out in a given month, then your videos will continue to play via our Regular bandwidth. This simply means that your videos will continue to be served from just one location in New York instead of via CDN. Regular bandwidth is unlimited, so your videos will never stop playing from our platform.

Please refer to the article "Regular vs Turbo Bandwidth" for streaming performance examples.

Please note that Turbo Bandwidth is only being used if you are uploading your videos directly to Spotlightr. If you are linking your videos using our Hybrid Hosting then you are not using any bandwidth from our platform.

You can check your bandwidth balance from your Dashboard here:


Buying Additional Turbo Bandwidth

If you run out of monthly Turbo bandwidth and prefer to not use Regular bandwidth at all, you can purchase additional Turbo bandwidth. Please note that only Enterprise accounts can purchase additional Turbo bandwidth. If you are on a Startup account and want more than the monthly allotment then you will need to upgrade to Enterprise.

When you purchase an allotment of bandwidth it rolls over month to month until it runs out.

Here's an example...

On May 1st you purchase 500 GB of additional bandwidth. By May 20th, you run out of your 200 GB monthly allotment and now start using the extra purchased bandwidth. By May 31st you've used an additional 100 GB (300 GB total used for the month).

When your monthly allotment resets on June 1st, you will still have 400 extra GB of bandwidth that rolled over.

To purchase more, simply click "Buy Bandwidth" link under your bandwidth usage indicator from the screenshot above.

From there, you can choose which plan you would like to purchase.


Clicking on any of those options will bring you a purchasing menu where you can confirm an already entered credit card or add a new one.


Disabling Turbo Bandwidth for Particular Videos

Turbo Bandwidth can also be disabled for specific videos. To do so, just open any video from your Dashboard and disable it via the Video Settings:

Do not forget to PUBLISH or SAVE your video to apply the settings.

Did this answer your question?